nutrifoki.blogg.se

Deer processing
Deer processing







Drain meltwater from the bottom of the cooler regularly and refresh the ice as needed until processing day arrives. When aging with a cooler, store all meat on top of the ice, and keep the meat dry. I don’t have a spare refrigerator that will hold a quartered deer, and I live in the South where it’s usually too warm to hang a deer in the open air, so I use a large cooler.Īging venison on ice is also helpful because it allows me to postpone processing until a day and time that might be more convenient for me than the day of the successful hunt. Venison that will be ground into burger does not need to be aged, but other cuts will be more tender and tasty if you can age them seven to 10 days on ice, in a refrigerator, or anywhere below 40 degrees F but not so cold that the meat freezes. More importantly, I like to age all portions that will not go into the grinder. You’ll need to store backstraps, tenderloins, hindquarters, shoulders, the neck roast, and maybe a plastic bag of miscellaneous pieces for the grinder (like the strips removed from between the ribs) on ice until you can process them further. A bonesaw is helpful for quartering but isn’t necessary, as it’s possible to de-bone quarters with only your skinning knife. I’ll start by assuming you’ve already field-dressed, skinned and quartered your deer. Here are 10 essential tools you need to have on hand for basic home-processing, and you probably already own some of them. Finally, there’s just something therapeutic or stress-relieving about disassembling venison and rendering it into freezer packages. I get the additional satisfaction that comes with self-sufficiency and do-it-yourself achievement. I can custom-package the products in sizes that fit my family’s needs for an average meal. I know exactly what parts go into my grinder. I save money by avoiding commercial processing fees. Home processing is not difficult, and there are many benefits I’ve come to know.

#Deer processing how to#

So, I can help you learn how to process your venison at home with very few expenses and even in tight quarters, like small apartment kitchens. My basic tools and procedures have remained simple because they work and because I don’t have the room or the need to advance my home-processing equipment.

deer processing

Long ago, I made the decision to process my venison for the freezer at home, in my own relatively small kitchen.







Deer processing